

Academic Council

Mission	Senior academic and administrative forum for deliberation on all academic matters
Reporting to	Medicine and Health Sciences Board

Terms of Reference

The Academic Council is responsible for the implementation of policy which is determined by the Medicine and Health Sciences Board. It addresses all matters concerning the administration of RCSI's Irish and International Schools. This includes student admissions, assessment, progression and welfare in all degree level programmes; curricula and learning technology; research activities; and academic staff appointments and promotions. The Academic Council meets monthly throughout the academic year and reports to the Medicine & Health Sciences Board. The committee aims to have gender representation of at least 40% of either gender in RCSI.

iviembersnip	Gender Balance	: 58% male and 42% to	∍male

Chair	Professor Simon Cross
Ex-officio - President, RCSI	Professor Laura Viani
Ex-officio - Vice President, RCSI	Professor Deborah McNamara
Council Member	Professor Camilla Carroll
Council Member	Mr John Caird
Vice Chancellor & CEO / Registrar	Professor Cathal Kelly
Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs	Professor Hannah McGee
President, RCSI Bahrain	Professor Sameer Otoom
Dean of Medical Programmes & Chair, Department of Surgery	Professor Arnold Hill
Head, School of Medicine & Chair, Department of Medicine	Professor N G McElvaney
Head, School of Nursing and Midwifery	Professor Zena Moore
Head, School of Pharmacy & Biomolecular Sciences	Professor Tracy Robson
Head, School of Physiotherapy	Professor Suzanne McDonough
Head, School of Postgraduate Studies	Professor Darran O'Connor
Head, School of Population Health	Professor Ed Gregg
Head, School of Dentistry	Professor Albert Leung
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Head of the School of Medicine, RCSI Bahrain	Professor Alf Nicholson
Deputy Head, School of Medicine, RCSI Bahrain	Professor Naji Alamuddin
Head, School of Nursing & Midwifery, RCSI Bahrain	Professor Kathryn Strachan
Head, School of Postgraduate Studies & Research, RCSI Bahrain	Professor Stephen Atkin
Director of Graduate Entry Medicine	Professor Seamus Sreenan
Director, Centre for Positive Health Sciences	Professor Ciaran O'Boyle
Executive Director, Graduate School of Healthcare Management	Ms Sara McDonnell
Director of Academic Programmes, Graduate School of	Dr Colm Foster
Healthcare Management	
Director of Medical Commencement Programme	Dr Darren Griffith
Director of Foundation Year	Dr Olga Piskareva
Year 1 Lead, School of Medicine	Professor Maria Morgan
Year 2 Co-Lead, School of Medicine	Dr Niall Stevens
Year 3 Co-Lead, School of Medicine	Professor Brona Murphy
Deputy Head (Education), School of Pharmacy & Biomolecular	Professor Judith Strawbridge
Sciences	
Deputy Head (Research), School of Pharmacy & Biomolecular	Professor Steve Kerrigan
Sciences	
Deputy Dean, International College of Pharmaceutical Innovation	Professor Brian Kirby
Deputy Director, Graduate Entry Medicine (Year 1)	Professor Marian Brennan
Deputy Director, Graduate Entry Medicine (Year 2)	Professor Eoghan O'Neill

Director BSc Advanced Therapeutic Technologies Programme	Dr Ben Ryan
Deputy Dean for Student Engagement	Professor Celine Marmion
Deputy Head of School of Nursing & Midwifery	Professor Tom O'Connor
Deputy Head of School of Physiotherapy	Professor Frances Horgan
Head, Department of Anaesthesia & Critical Care	Professor Gerard Curley
Head, Department of Anatomy	Professor Clive Lee
Head, Department of Aliatomy Head, Department of Clinical Microbiology	Professor Fidelma Fitzpatrick
Head, Department of Clinical Neurological Science	Professor Ciaran Bolger
Head, Department of Family Medicine & General Practice	Professor Tom Fahey
Head, Department of International Health & Tropical Medicine and	Professor Sam McConkey
Deputy Dean for International Curriculum Development	Professor Sam McConkey
	Ma Kata Kally
Director of Library Services	Ms Kate Kelly Professor David Williams
Geriatric Medicine, Department of Medicine & Director Senior	Professor David Williams
Cycle 1, School of Medicine	Drofossor Forgal Malona
Head, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology	Professor Fergal Malone Professor Conor Murphy
Head, Department of Ophthalmology	
Head, Department of Orthopaedics	Professor John M O'Byrne
Head, Department of Otolaryngology / Head & Neck Surgery &	Professor James Paul O'Neill
Director Senior Cycle 2, School of Medicine	Dreference Innether Hermitens
Head, Department of Paediatrics	Professor Jonathan Hourihane
Head, Department of Pharmacoutical & Madisinal Chemistry	Professor Siobhan Glavey
Head, Department of Pharmaceutical & Medicinal Chemistry	Professor Donal O'Shea
Acting Head, Department of Physiology & Medical Physics &	Professor David Henshall
Deputy Dean for International Scholarly Engagement	De ferre Manufer
Head, Department of Psychiatry & Director Senior Cycle 1, School	Professor Kieran Murphy
of Medicine	D. C. A. LIST
Head, Department of Health Psychology & Deputy Dean for	Professor Ann Hickey
Positive Education	Destance Delli Otavista et
Head, Department of Public Health & Epidemiology	Professor Debbi Stanistreet
Head, Department of Radiology	Professor Nuala Healy
Head of Simulation Education & Research	TBC
Chair of Medical Professionalism	Professor Denis Harkin
Chair of Global Surgery	Professor Juan Carlos Puyana
Head of Quality Enhancement Office	Ms Aisling Reast
Head of Quality & Academic Development, RCSI Bahrain	Dr Nichola McLarnon
Deputy Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation	Professor Fergal O'Brien
Director of Corporate Strategy	Mr Michael McGrail
Director of Health Professions Education Centre	Professor Jan Illing
Director of Finance	Mr Padraig Barry (Director of Finance nominee)
Director of Human Resources	Mr Barry Holmes
Director of Human Resources nominee	Ms Cathy Buffini
Director of Development - Alumni Relations, Fellows & Members	Ms Aíne Gibbons
Chief Technology Officer	Mr Justin Ralph
Director of Physician Associate Programme	Professor Lisa Alexander
Deputy Head (Research), School of Population Health	Professor Kathleen Bennett
Academic Director of Admissions	Dr Kenny Winser
Academic Director of Community & Public Engagement	Professor Kevin McGuigan
Director of the Clinical Research Centre	Professor Mark Sherlock
Director of the Centre for Vascular Biology	Professor James O'Donnell
Director of International Engagement and External Relations	Ms Abi Kelly
Director of Simulation Education	Dr Claire Condron
Director of Curriculum, School of Medicine	Professor Gozie Offiah
Head of Equality and Diversity	Ms Liz Hughes
Head of Online Education	Dr Dara Cassidy
Students' Union President	Mr Connor Lenihan
Students' Union Vice President & Events Officer	Ms Meeryn Kahlon
Students' Union Education Officer/Secretary	Ms Farah Elnakoury
Representative; Professor/Associate Professor	Professor Judy Harmey - Elected March 2023
Representative; Lecturer /Senior Lecturer	Dr Frank Moriarty - Elected March 2023
Associate Director for Academic Affairs	Ms Judith Gilroy
Associate Director for Admissions	Mr Philip Curtis
Associate Director for Communications	Ms Louise Loughran
Director of Estates, Estates & Support Services	Mr Ronan Baxter
Director or Estates, Estates & Support Services	IVII TOTIALI DANIOI

	T	
Associate Director, Chief Executive's Office	Mr Adrian Devitt	
Associate Director, Surgical Affairs Operations & Planning	Mr Padraig Kelly	
Head of Operations, SARA	Mr Conor Murney	
Head of Examinations & Assessments, SARA	Mr Kenny Franks	
Head of Academic Operations, RCSI Bahrain	Mr Simon Whitebridge	
Invited Partner		
Executive Director, Institute of Pharmacy	Dr Catriona Bradley	
Secretariat		
Chair	Elected Council member, Professor Simon Cross	
Convenor	Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs,	
	Professor Hannah McGee	
Secretary	Secretary to the DVCAA, Ms Margaret McCarthy	