

RCSI DEVELOPING **HEALTHCARE** LEADERS WHO MAKE A **DIFFERENCE WORLDWIDE**

Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery Celebrating 40 years of Education and Research



Ms. Brigid Walsh 1979-1983



Ms. Eva Wall 1984-1987



Ms. Mary Appelby 1987-1990



Ms. Josephine Bartley



Ms. Greta Redmond 1995-1998

Co-Operation

Availability

Prudence

Wisdom



Founding Dean Ms. Mary Frances Crowley 1974-1979

The inauguration of the Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery took place at the

Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland on 30th October 1974.

The Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery consists of a Dean and twelve

members who constitute the Board of the Faculty and it is bound by the

constitutions of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and the Council of

the College.

The Dean's Medal, pictured below, is mounted on a black background with

eight stars symbolising the essential qualities of leadership, listed above.

Knowledge

Responsibility

Co-Ordination

Conciliation



Ms. Nora J. Cummins



2001-2004



Ms. Eileen Maher 2004-2007

As one of the earliest and longest serving providers of nurse education in Ireland, the Faculty has ensured wide ranging and relevant programmes of education for nurses. The Faculty aims to develop caring, reflective practitioners who use research-based knowledge for the purposes of improving patient care.

The Faculty provides part time nursing education programmes including Bachelors, Post Graduate Diplomas & Masters Degrees, approved through the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, the National University of Ireland and the Nursing & Midwifery Board of Ireland. The Faculty offers the prestigious Fellowship award (FFNMRCSI). Research supervision is also provided at Masters and PhD level.



Ms. Edna Woolhead 2012-2014



Professor Marie Carney 2014-



Ms. Maeve Dwyer 2007-2010



Dr. Aíne Colgan 2010-2012